“The Wonderful Adventures of Nils” by Selma Lagerlöf

📖It’s one of the wisest stories for young minds that never cease to surprise me. This book stole my heart many years ago, turning me into a reader. It significantly contributed to my childhood, fostering my love for reading and gnomes. Now, my son wants to read it on his own, and my daughter smiles when she sees me opening the first page of these incredible adventures.

Cat Josef also enjoyed reading it with us 🌟📖🐈‍⬛

🪿The Plot: We follow a little boy named Nils Holgeson. He was a sweet little boy, but still, he was nasty a bit. He played tricks on farm animals and misbehaved sometimes. One day, he played a trick on a gnome. The fairy creature decided to give a lesson to a naughty boy. The gnome used one of his spells and turned Nils to the size of a thumb. Together with a farmer gander named Martin, who appeared Nil’s single friend and agreed to help him, they started their adventurous journey across Sweden. Whether Nils learns the lesson and the gnome’s spell dissolves? Will Nils and gander Martin come back home?

🦆The Writing Style: The translation by Joan Tate remains my favorite, as do the illustrations by Lars Klinting. This fairytale is action-packed, twisty, and wise. It is full of hilarious moments and heart-breaking scenes. Packed with numerous life lessons, morals, and thoughts, it will stay with a reader long after finishing the book. Moreover, readers get the chance to have a brilliant virtual guide around Sweden on the wings of a kind and friendly gander, Martin.

🪿The Characters: There are many characters in this glorious book. But how adorable they are! Selma Lagerlöf portrayed them all so masterfully and solidly. Each of them possesses features and traits that will stick in the memory and evoke feelings and emotions in the reader’s soul. All these participants in the book are multilayered, deep, and memorable.

☀️The Fave Quote: Truth be told, this book was, is, and will be one big wise quote for me. I just can’t define the one.

⭐️My humble rating is: 5.5/5

I gave my highest humble rating to this book just because it still takes the lead and remains one of my favorite books ever. Moreover, this book managed to make my son an avid reader and my daughter – an avid listener. “The Wonderful Adventures of Nils” by Selma Lagerlog contributed to my kids’ childhood and their personalities hugely, as it did to mine. And it feels priceless.

I hope this book will leave as significant and touching a trace in your heart as it did in mine and my kids.

Thank you for dropping by and reading this review!

Stay safe, take care, and happy reading!

#writerslife #amwriting #amreading #bookforkids #TheWonderfulAdventuresOfNils #SelmaLagerlöf #Sweden #booklover #childhood #catlover #catJosef #reading #reader #WhatToRead #bookreview

Leave a comment