“Before The Coffee Gets Cold” by Toshikazu Kawaguchi

If you enjoy reading heart-warming books about time travel with cozy mysteries, you’ll enjoy reading this book.

The Plot: We follow different people who enjoy spending time in the café in a small back alley in Tokyo. This café is old and offers something exceptional for its customers. They have a chance to travel back in time. But everything is not as simple as it may seem at first sight. There are many rules the customers should follow if they want to set off on a journey back in time.

The Writing Style: The translation was excellent. This small book could be read in one sitting. It’s well-paced and has some slight twists and turns. There is a presence of a cozy mystery that envelops me with warmth and positive vibes. There were a lot of heart-squeezing moments that made me sob a bit. Meantime, there are enough heart-warming ones that inspired and encouraged greatly. The book is very cleverly written, and it made me process a lot of things after reading it. It is a kind, touching, and wise book about time, time riddles, and time travel.

The Characters: The number of the characters is numerous. It took me some time to adapt and get acquainted with all of the characters. However, the most emotional connection I felt was only at the end of the book. Even though the characters are portrayed brilliantly. There was no problem in visualizing them to the fullest.

The fave quote: “Thank you for growing up so happily and healthily. Just by growing up so fit and well, you have made me so happy. That’s all I want to say to you…this is how I feel deep down.”

Would I read other books by this author: Probably, yes!

My humble rating is: 4/5

I gave such a rating just because I had probably expected a bit more, but still, the book is beautiful, and I enjoyed reading it. And I hope you’ll enjoy reading it too.

I enjoy reading books by Japanese authors, and I’ll read the other books by Toshikazu Kawaguchi.  

“Before The Coffee Gets Gold” is available on Amazon.

Anyway, thank you for dropping by and reading this post! Stay safe, take care, and happy reading!

#writerslife #EllenKhodakivska #bookreview #fiction #BeforeCoffeeGetsCold #whattoread #booklover #bookaddict #amreading #amwriting #reader #coffeelover #timetravel #japanesewriter

Leave a comment